The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

On November 9, 2009 I chose to go and see The Diving Bell and the Butterfly as a choice for my International PR class on an International film.  This film was originally a french movie and then was translated to English for viewers.

The film was about the editor of a magazine having a stroke and completely paralyzing him. He was coherent and could understand what people were saying but he could not respond to anything said. Bauby had to communicate completely by his eyes, in which he developed a blinking code and in the end he actually wrote a whole book just by blinking it out.

As for the diversity of students that actually came to the film, I would say that it was not the most diverse event I had been to. There were familiar faces there though, because  all my Research group members are  all in International PR and we decided to go together after one of our  group meetings. The movie itself did not really show an accurate representation of the culture in France. The movie was more of an autobiography about just Bauby, it did not really show the French culture, especially since it was all translated. I found the movie very interesting and I would probably attend an event again playing the movie or maybe even go rent the movie. I found it amazing that the movie was based on a true story and that someone was actually that talented to write a whole book just by blinking out the words.

In comparing this film to going and watching an American film, I would say that the experiences are very similar. I personally find going to watch a movie in a theatre like setting is the same anywhere you go to watch a movie.

Since there really was not much diversity at the film showing I did not really feel timid or overwhelmed. I felt very comfortable there especially since I was sitting with people who I knew.

One response to “The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

  1. Seems like you guys enjoyed yourself.

Leave a Reply

